jump to navigation

Formatting Wizardry (Off Topic) February 6, 2009

Posted by Greg in Nuts and Bolts.
trackback

This doesn’t really have anything to do with philosophy, but Tony asked me how I do fancy formatting in my comments, so I figured I’d make a post about it instead of hiding it in a comment.

WordPress seems to support most of the standard HTML tags: <b>foo</b> for bold, <i>bar</i> for italics, <blockquote>baz</blockquote> for

block quotes

and so forth. A basic HTML reference might be handy here, or you can go to the “new post” page, press all the buttons (the buttons with text, not the “upload/insert” buttons), see what code it generates, and then just copy and paste that into your comment. This second method also has the advantage of letting you preview what your comment will look like.

Feel free to practice formatting in the comments to this post.

Comments

1. Greg - February 6, 2009

WordPress doesn’t have a button for subscripts, but they’re valid HTML — I wonder if they work here too.

2. Greg - February 6, 2009

Apparently not.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

